January 10, 2008 REVISED FLUSHING DATES

Dear St. Mary Water Users:

The water department is revising the water flushing dates. Please mark your calendars with the new dates below.

Each and every month the water department flushes water hydrants. The flushing of hydrants is mandated by the MO. Department of Natural Resources. This flushing helps to clear up the discoloration in the water that is caused by the manganese in the water. Manganese is a mineral that is naturally in the water that we pump and supply to our water users. Through chlorinating and oxidation most of the mineral is removed and when the fire hydrants are flushed it helps to remove it from the water mains.

We are sending to each water users the dates that the hydrants will be flushed. We ask that you mark your calendars for these dates. The flushing will begin after 10:00 p.m. We ask that you do not use the water for laundry at this time because the flushing does stir up the manganese for a short period of time and this will stain your clothing. This flushing is being done during the night time hours so that the discoloration in the water has time to clear up by morning. Before you do laundry the next day be sure that the water is clear because the manganese will discolor your laundry. Biz will help to remove the stains from your laundry if used shortly after.

Reminders of  flushing dates and time will be included monthly in the Saint Mary Graprvvine.

The new flushing dates will always be the 3rd (Third) Thursday starting in February 2008
(Changed  from  the 3rd (Third) Wednesday to the 3rd (Third) Thursday as listed previously)



Thursday, February 21, 2008

Thursday, March 20, 2008

Thursday April 17, 2008

Thursday, May 15, 2008

Thursday, June 19, 2008

Thursday, July 17, 2008

Thursday, August 21, 2008

Thursday, September 18, 2008

Thursday, October 16, 2008

Thursday, November 20, 2008

Thursday, December 18, 2008

 

Please mark your calendar now. Thank you for your help and consideration in this matter.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

Alderman Dennis Bovey

St. Mary Water Department